Sign Up for e-Notes

Recently Posted

Renew your subscription on the 11th

May 5th, 2019

If you haven’t done so already, you’ll have another chance to renew your Civic Music membership, in person, at the May 11 concert at the Weidner.  Check in at the Civic Music table just inside the main canopy entrance.

Civic Music on cable

May 5th, 2019

Our first-ever TV ad campaign is wrapping up. Coinciding with our spring membership drive, we placed a few dozen local airings of our 30-second spot on various cable networks.  While not saturation-level exposure (too expensive), it’s a start.  If you’re at home Wednesday night (May 8), for example, tune in A&E at 6:45 p.m. or Hallmark at 7:16.

Monday noon show

May 5th, 2019

Speaking of TV, tune it to WBAY-TV 2 at noon Monday, May 6, to hear a preview of both the upcoming MSO concert and next year’s Civic Music lineup. President emeritus and board member Tony Staley will appear with host Kevin Rompa near the end of Action 2 News at Noon. (Rompa’s not the only Channel 2 personality to be talking Civic Music this week. News anchor Cami Rapson has agreed to be our special guest announcer for the MSO/Lan concert.)

Eat, shop to benefit us

May 5th, 2019

Perkins Restaurant at Military and Shawano donates 10% of all sales between 5 and 8 p.m. on the third Wednesday each month. (Wednesday, May 15, is the next one.) Also, sign up with to designate 0.5% of eligible purchase prices to Civic Music. Find out more about Amazon Smile and the Perkins Dine to Donate programs.

Reminder: Opera at the Hill

May 5th, 2019

All Civic Music subscribers are entitled to free admission for our second annual summer opera concert, at 4 p.m. Sunday, June 23 at Heritage Hill State Park. Local standouts Scott Ramsay and Mary Arendt will join the Florentine Opera recitalists. Same as last year, guaranteed preferred seating will be an additional option, $10/ticket, going on sale in late May. Watch for a postcard reminder and notices on the Civic Music and Heritage Hill web pages.

Video: 2019-20 Classical Series

April 15th, 2019

The Brown County Civic Music Association presents

  • Chamber Music Society, Lincoln Center* – Sat. Oct. 12, 2019
  • Rodney Marsalis Philadelphia Brass – Sat. Nov. 9, 2019
  • Maxwell Street Klezmer – Sat. March 14, 2020
  • Washington Saxophone Quartet – Sat. April 18, 2020
  • Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra* – Thurs. May 7, 2020

* Venue: Weidner Center for the Performing Arts, UW-Green Bay

Download the season brochure (pdf).

Siberian Virtuosi – Biography

March 16th, 2019

Season Listing | Program | Biography

Siberian Virtuosi

The State Ensemble of Violinists from Yakutia, Russia 

Siberian Virtuosi, the State Ensemble of the Russian Republic of Sakha (Yakutia), an ensemble of violinists and a pianist, is gaining acclaim both in Russia and around the world. Founded in 1994 as the Virtuosi of Yakutia, the ensemble is known for its energy, unique arrangements and high level of virtuosity. The group typically performs standing, without conductor.

The Ensemble has won numerous international awards, including an international festival in St. Petersburg, Russia, “Music Week of Tours” in France, Grand Prix in Cremona, Italy, a Grand Prix in Hungary, and many others. They often tour around the Russian Federation, performing before capacity audiences in major cities. Their 20-concert American debut in 2012 was followed by a well-received tour of South America including Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Ecuador and Colombia.

The Siberian Virtuosi make frequent radio and TV appearances across the Federation. Their designation as the official state ensemble reflects their cultural and artistic achievements in Russia and abroad, and success in representing the performing arts of their home state and the larger region of Siberia.


Julia Baisheva, Efrosinia Efimova, Agafia Kuzmina, Aianna Nikolaeva, Sandaara Semenova, Daria Shakhurdina, Inna Sinyakova, Gelena Starkova, Anastasiia Vasilieva, Anastasiia Voronkova


Nadezhda Petrova


Larisa Gabysheva – Company Director
Stanislav Afanasenko – Artistic Director

Tour Director

Nadia Fleishaker


World Touring, LLC
Leonid Fleishaker, Executive Producer
PMB 117, 21301 S. Tamiami Trl., #320, Estero, FL 33928
631-838-5658 * *

The capital of the Russia Republic of Sakha (also known as Yakutia) is the city of Yakutsk, population 300,000. The city experiences the coldest winters of any major city in the world, with actual January temperatures seldom rising above 25-below, Fahrenheit. Yakutsk is located in the vast expanse of far east-central Siberia, much closer to Alaska and the Bering Sea (still 1,800 miles to the east) than to Moscow (4,600 miles west).

Siberian Virtuosi – Program

March 16th, 2019

Season Listing | Program | Biography

J.S. Bach (1685-1750), Toccata & Fugue in d-minor
Pyotr Ilych Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) – Scherzo
Pablo de Sarasate (1844-1908) – Navarra

Grigoras Ionica Dinicu (1889-1949) – Hora Staccato

Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943) – Vocalise

Antonio Bazzini (1818-1897) – Rondo of Goblins

Astor Piazzola (1921-1992) – Oblivion
Manuel de Falla (1876-1946) – Spanish Dance #1
Johann Strauss Jr. (1825-1899) – Die Fledermaus
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) – Hungarian Dance #1

———————— Intermission —————————–

Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741) – Summer from “Four Seasons”

W.A. Mozart (1756-1791) – Overture, Marriage of Figaro
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) – Air on the G String
Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847) – Scherzo
Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) – Magic Melodies from Ballet Hits
Jean Sibelius (1865-1957) – Valse Triste (Sad Waltz)

Vittorio Monti (1868-1922) – Csardas
George Enescu (1881-1955) – Romanian Rhapsody

Astor Piazzola (1921-1992) – Libertango
Valeri Ermoshkin (1948- ) – Walk along the Hollywood
Aram Khachaturian (1903-1978) – The Sabre Dance

Back to the Future!

March 16th, 2019
April 13, 1932 - Photo of a Civic Music season-kickoff dinner held each spring at the Hotel Northland ballroom in downtown Green Bay

April 13, 1932 – Photo of a Civic Music season-kickoff dinner held each spring at the Hotel Northland ballroom in downtown Green Bay

You’re invited: Celebrate Civic Music,  Civic Music history and Green Bay history!

Join us for the unveiling of what promises to be our community’s biggest and best season of classical music in years!

WHAT: Campaign Kickoff and All-Membership Luncheon

WHEN: Saturday, April 13, 11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
11-noon, registration/reception; noon meal; 12:45 program

WHERE: Historic Crystal Ballroom, restored Northland Hotel
A return to Civic Music’s longtime former campaign ‘headquarters’

MENU: Tarragon Dijon Chicken
With gnocchi, shaved brussels, salad, breads, dessert and more

MUSIC: The Griffon String Quartet of Door County
Elegant reception music and brief featured performance during program

HOW: $20 per person, members and guest(s)
RSVP at concerts (table in lobby) or mail; Payment to BCCM by April 6

Pro string quartet to play

March 16th, 2019
The Griffon String Quartet

The Griffon String Quartet

Civic Music is thrilled to announce that our annual kickoff luncheon will be enhanced by the presence of a first-rate, professional string quartet. The Griffon String Quartet will provide pre-dinner music during the reception/registration hour, and a brief featured performance during the program. For more on the group, visit