Archive for April, 2011

Recently Posted

Press Gazette: New season includes collaboration

Friday, April 29th, 2011

by Warren Gerds • • April 21, 2011

Action started when Brown County Civic Music Association booked famed pianist Lilya Zilberstein for a concert with her sons.

Zilberstein asked Roger Bintz, who books performances for Civic Music, if any other local organization might be interested in presenting her to make her flight from Hamburg, Germany, more cost-efficient.

Bintz lives four doors away from Mike Stefiuk, executive director of the Green Bay Symphony Orchestra. Bingo.

Civic Music will present Zilberstein in concert with her sons on Nov. 11.

The Green Bay Symphony will feature Zilberstein as guest artist in its Nov. 12 concert.

Visit the Green Bay Press Gazette’s site for Warren Gerds’ complete introduction to the 2011-2012 season schedule.

E-Notes: Fantastic Finale on Sunday, May 1st

Thursday, April 28th, 2011

True to tradition, Brown County Civic Music will close the season with the magnificent Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Stuart Chafetz, who has warmly endeared himself to CM audiences. An evening of music by an all-Russian lineup of composers can be nothing less than sensational!

Ralph Holter Auditorium at Green Bay West High
7:30 p.m., doors open at 7:00
Tickets at door, $35, adults; $10 students
Reception following concert at Titletown Brewing Company. Y’all come!

Free bonus concert for new members who join for next season.
Invite family, friends & colleagues to experience live, classical music by professionals from around the world. 6 concerts for a 5-concert price, includes 2 MSO performances!! It will be an especially exciting season for young musicians.

Renew your membership
Renew your membership at the concert by enclosing a check with your membership form OR…renew your membership on our website.

May 1—Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra Program

Thursday, April 28th, 2011

Program | Program Notes | Season Listing

Dmitri Shostakovich

Festive Overture, Opus 96

Dmitri Shostakovich

Symphony No. 9 in E-flat major, Opus 70


—-Intermission —-

Mikhail Glinka

Overture to Russlan and Ludmilla

Sergei Prokofiev

March and Scherzo from Love for Three Oranges, Opus 33bis

Reinhold Gliere

“Russian Sailor’s Dance” from The Red Poppy

Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Waltz from the Suite from The Sleeping Beauty

Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Capriccio italien, Opus 45

May 1—Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra Program Notes

Thursday, April 28th, 2011

Program | Program Notes | Season Listing

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)

Festive Overture, Opus 96

Following a period from 1948 to 1953 when Shostakovich was almost exclusively involved with the creation of film scores and chamber music, he suddenly returned to orchestral composition with Symphony No. 10 and, in 1954, his brilliant Festive Overture. Allegedly written under great pressure of time, the overture was given its first performance on November 7, 1954 at a Moscow concert commemorating the thirty-seventh anniversary of the October Revolution (Soviet celebrations often went on for a long time). (more…)

2008 Civic Music Performer is 2011 Grammy Winner

Wednesday, April 27th, 2011
Paul Jacobs, Grammy-winning organist

Paul Jacobs, Grammy-winning organist

Paul Jacobs, an organist, who played for the Saturday, April 26, 2008 concert in the Civic Music series a few years ago was awarded a 2011 Grammy Award for “Best Instrumental Soloist Performance (without Orchestra),” the first Grammy ever to a solo organist!

Civic Music is proud to have presented this history-making musician.

See the video interview with Paul Jacobs about his grammy award found on YouTube.

Press Gazette gives Imani Winds 4 Stars

Saturday, April 2nd, 2011

* * * *
Concert review
Imani Winds
4 stars out of 4 (more…)